
Bybit
Crypto exchange for spot, perpetuals, futures and options trading
Not available in: United States, Canada, China, Hong Kong SAR China, Singapore, Uzbekistan, Iran, Syria and 4 more. Details
Own Bybit? Claim it, free to correct the facts and get the verified badge.
Pricing
Paid
API
Yes
Company
Bybit
Platforms
I rate Bybit a strong choice for active perps and options traders in countries it still serves, because its entry fees are low and it publishes reserve reports often. Beginners who want spot, and anyone in the US, UK, Japan or the EEA, will do better at Kraken, Coinbase or a MiCAR-licensed exchange.
What is Bybit?
Bybit is a centralized cryptocurrency exchange. You can trade spot, spot margin, perpetual contracts, futures and options on it. Fees use maker/taker rates that drop as your VIP tier goes up.
According to Bybit's Help Center, non-VIP users pay 0.10% maker and taker on crypto spot pairs. Perpetuals and futures cost 0.02% maker and 0.055% taker, and options cost 0.02% maker and 0.03% taker. Fiat-crypto spot pairs use a separate fee schedule. VIP levels are recalculated daily, and holding the MNT token can cut fees on some products. Actual rates can vary by region.
Bybit also offers trading bots and copy trading. It fits active crypto traders, especially derivatives traders and high-volume users who can qualify for VIP rates.
Key features
- Spot trading for crypto and fiat pairs
- Spot margin trading
- Perpetual and futures contracts
- Options trading
- Tiered VIP fee program updated daily
- MNT token fee discounts
- Trading bots and copy trading
- API order placement
Use cases
Who it's for
Derivatives trading
Trade perpetuals and futures at a 0.02% maker / 0.055% taker base rate.
Spot crypto trading
Buy and sell crypto pairs at 0.10% base fees. When you buy, the fee is charged in the asset you receive.
High-volume trading
Move up VIP tiers to get lower fees, down to 0% maker on perpetuals at Supreme VIP.
Bybit pricing
From the vendor's site, checked Nov 5, 2026. Prices change — confirm on their pricing page.
Non-VIP spot
per trade
0.10% maker / 0.10% taker
- Crypto-crypto spot pairs
Non-VIP derivatives
per trade
0.02% maker / 0.055% taker
- Perpetuals and futures
- Options: 0.02% maker / 0.03% taker
Supreme VIP
per trade
Spot 0.03% maker / 0.045% taker
- Perpetuals 0% maker / 0.03% taker
Fee on a $1,000 spot trade: $10.1% × $1,000. Worked out from the figures in Bybit in numbers below.
Get an email when Bybit changes its prices
One mail per change, a stop link in each. Nothing else.
Bybit in numbers
- Spot taker fee
- 0.1%
- Spot maker fee
- 0.1%
- Futures taker fee
- 0.055%
- Futures maker fee
- 0.02%
- Coins listed
- 600
- Max leverage
- 100x
- Not available in
- United States, Canada, China, Hong Kong SAR China +8
- Proof of reserves
- Monthly, Merkle tree, verified by Hacken
- Fiat deposits
- Yes
- P2P market
- Yes
- Copy trading
- Yes
From Bybit's own pages, checked Nov 6, 2026. Each figure links to the page it is from; fields the vendor doesn't state are left out.
How Bybit compares
- Fee on a $1,000 spot trade: $1 at Bybit, more than all 4 similar services that state it.
- Bybit has the weakest spot maker fee of the 5 services here: 0.1%.
| Tool | Fee on a $1,000 spot trade | Spot taker fee | Futures taker fee | Coins listed | Not available in | Proof of reserves | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| B | $1 | 0.1% | 0.055% | 600 | United States, Canada, China, Hong Kong SAR China +8 | Monthly, Merkle tree, verified by Hacken | |
| B | $1 | 0.1% | 0.05% | 600 | United States, Canada, Netherlands, Cuba +2 | Monthly, Merkle tree + zk-SNARK, no third-party auditor named | Bybit vs Binance |
| O | $1 | 0.1% | 0.05% | 300 | Afghanistan, Canada, Cuba, Hong Kong SAR China +13 | Monthly, zk-STARK/Merkle tree, self-verifiable; no named auditor | Bybit vs OKX |
| B | $1 | 0.1% | 0.06% | — | United States, Puerto Rico, Guam, U.S. Virgin Islands +31 | Monthly, Merkle tree; no third-party auditor named | Bybit vs Bitget |
| B | $1 | 0.1% | 0.05% | 1,000 | Afghanistan, Burundi, Cambodia, Canada +16 | Monthly, Merkle tree, audited by Hacken (earlier by Mazars) | Bybit vs BingX |
Figures from each vendor's own pages; — means the vendor doesn't state it. The closest alternatives in our directory by category. “Starts at” is the cheapest paid plan per month, as each vendor lists it.
Pros and cons
Strengths
- Low base derivatives maker fee of 0.02%
- VIP tiers bring perpetual maker fees to 0%
- Spot, margin, futures and options on one platform
Limitations
- Fiat-crypto spot pairs start at a higher 0.20% taker fee
- Fee rates may vary by region
- MNT discount excludes API, bot and copy-trading orders
Bybit review
Stanislav VovchykUpdated Nov 6, 20269 min readShould you use Bybit in 2026, and can you?
Bybit suits active perps and options traders in a country it still serves. It's a weak choice for spot beginners, and the list of countries where you can't use it at all keeps growing. The core product is USDT/USDC perpetuals, futures and options. Spot, copy trading, bots, Earn and a TradFi arm sit around that core.
From June to November 2026, Bybit's access narrowed in Singapore, the EEA, Japan and the UK.
Bybit Service Restricted Countries: US, Chinese Mainland, Hong Kong, Singapore, Canada and sanctioned regions excluded
Where Bybit is not available or is restricted, as of November 2026:
- United States: no service of any kind (Service Restricted Countries, citing T&C §11.3).
- Mainland China, Hong Kong, Singapore, Canada, North Korea, Cuba, Iran, Syria, Sudan and some Ukrainian regions: blocked. Some campaign terms limit the Canada block to Ontario and Quebec.
- Singapore: MAS added Bybit Fintech Ltd to its Investor Alert List on 17 June 2026.
- Japan: the exit was completed on 22 July 2026. Convert and withdrawals still work (notice).
- United Kingdom: new sign-ups stopped on 21 Sep 2026. Since 21 Oct 2026, accounts are withdrawal-only and bots have been terminated. The en-GB site closes on 19 Nov 2026 (UK notice).
- EEA: since 1 July 2026, residents are served by Bybit EU on bybit.eu, not bybit.com. Malta is excluded, and derivatives are not on Bybit EU's licence.
- UAE: the VARA licence covers spot exchange services only.
- Fiat services: a separate restricted-issuer list (updated 3 Oct 2026) includes Russia and Nigeria.
Where you live decides which Bybit entity serves you, and that decides what you can trade:
| Where you live | Entity | What you get |
|---|---|---|
| Most non-restricted countries | Bybit global (offshore) | Full range: perps, futures, options, spot, TradFi |
| EEA (not Malta) | Bybit EU GmbH, MiCAR licence from Austria's FMA | Custody, exchange, placing, transfers; no derivatives |
| Dubai | Bybit Fintech FZE, VARA licence | Spot exchange only; Bybit is seeking approval for derivatives |
| UK | None for new users | Withdrawals only |
| US | None | Nothing |
What you can trade: perps, futures, options, spot and TradFi
Derivatives are the reason to pick Bybit, and its TradFi menu is wider than at most crypto exchanges. One account gives you USDT- and USDC-margined perpetuals, dated futures and options.
Two perp markets carry extra risk. Innovation Zone perps list newer tokens and charge higher fees. Pre-market perps let you trade a token before it lists anywhere. They switch to standard perp fees once the symbol trades on at least three centralized exchange spot markets (pre-market FAQ).
Bybit TradFi gives you three ways to trade stocks:
| Product | Range | Max leverage |
|---|---|---|
| MT5 CFDs (forex, metals, indices, stocks, commodities) | 400+ instruments | Up to 500x per Bybit; stock CFDs capped at 5x |
| TradFi perpetuals | 1,300+ instruments | New listings such as BYDUSDT launch at up to 25x |
| xStocks | Tokenised shares | Not stated |
Copy trading and bots are also available. Each adds its own risk on top of the strategy you copy or automate. Leveraged perps and options can be liquidated fast. Region matters too: Bybit EU and the VARA entity offer spot only, and UK accounts can no longer trade at all.
Bybit fees by VIP tier, with real cost examples
Derivatives fees are low at entry level, spot fees are average, and the special zones cost more. These rates come from Bybit's trading fee structure:
Perps cost far less than spot, and maker fees are under half the taker rate at every perp tier.
Bybit Trading Fee Structure: VIP 0 spot 0.1%/0.1%, perps 0.055% taker/0.02% maker, down to Supreme VIP
| Product | VIP 0 maker / taker | VIP 3 maker / taker | Supreme VIP maker / taker |
|---|---|---|---|
| Spot (crypto pairs) | 0.10% / 0.10% | 0.0625% / 0.075% | 0.030% / 0.045% |
| Perpetuals and futures | 0.0200% / 0.0550% | 0.0140% / 0.0350% | 0% / 0.0300% |
| Options | 0.02% / 0.02% | Not stated | 0.005% / 0.015% |
| Innovation Zone perps (non-VIP) | 0.04% / 0.11% | Not stated | Not stated |
| Bybit EU spot (under $10,000 in 30-day volume) | 0.10% / 0.25% | Not stated | Not stated |
Each order is charged at the VIP level you hold when you place it. Fiat pairs use your 30-day spot volume or your VIP level, whichever is higher, and fiat VIP 1 needs about $1M in volume. Paying spot fees in MNT cuts them by 25% (MNT FAQ). The Bybit EU rate dates from August 2026, so confirm it on bybit.eu.
Here is how a $10,000 perp position works out. Opening and closing with market orders at VIP 0, you pay the 0.055% taker rate on both legs. Using limit orders on both legs, you pay the 0.02% maker rate instead. The same trade in the Innovation Zone costs 0.11% per leg.
Limit orders are the biggest saving for frequent traders. On a perp leg, the maker rate is under half the taker rate, and at Supreme VIP the maker rate is zero. Funding payments and network withdrawal fees come on top. They vary by contract and coin and are listed on the per-contract fee-rate page.
Is Bybit safe? The $1.5B hack, proof of reserves and licences
Bybit handled a record hack better than most exchanges would have, and it publishes reserve checks often. The global entity is still offshore, with no compensation scheme. Crypto prices move sharply, and any exchange can freeze withdrawals or fail, so treat a balance on Bybit as money at risk.
The hack. On 21 Feb 2025, attackers took about $1.46B in ETH from an Ethereum multisig cold wallet during a cold-to-warm transfer. It is the largest crypto theft on record. Bybit said the attackers got in through a compromised Safe{Wallet} developer machine. The FBI attributed the theft to North Korea's TraderTraitor (Lazarus) group in a public notice on 26–27 Feb 2025.
Withdrawals kept running, and Bybit restored its reserves in about 72 hours. Its post-mortem is less detailed than a full independent audit would be.
Proof of Reserves. Every 2026 report by the auditing firm Hacken shows an in-scope reserve ratio above 100%:
| Snapshot date | Result |
|---|---|
| 26 Feb 2026 | Above 100% |
| 22 Apr 2026 | Above 100% |
| 22 Jul 2026 | Above 100% |
| 26 Aug 2026 | Above 100% |
| 23 Sep 2026 (report dated 29 Sep) | Above 100%, even after outstanding loan liabilities |
Hacken checks Bybit's customer liabilities against a Merkle tree, a structure that lets each user confirm their own balance is counted, and it reviews the tree's code. Bybit proves it owns each wallet address by sending small amounts that Hacken specifies. You can check that your balance is included on the Proof of Reserves page or with an open-source validator on GitHub. The latest report is the September 2026 PDF.
Licences and regulators:
| Jurisdiction | Status |
|---|---|
| EU | Bybit EU GmbH authorised under MiCAR by Austria's FMA, May 2025; Bybit Payments GmbH got an e-money licence, Aug 2026 |
| Dubai | VARA licence for spot exchange services, announced 22 Oct 2026 |
| India | Fined ₹92.7M by FIU-IND under the PMLA (order dated 31 Jan 2025); Bybit paid and registered |
| Singapore | Added to the MAS Investor Alert List, 17 June 2026 |
| UK | No FCA authorisation; the Dec 2025 return ran through FCA-authorised Archax |
| Others | Bybit cites 2026 approvals in the Cayman Islands, Indonesia, South Africa and El Salvador |
The global platform has no deposit insurance and no ombudsman. UK users never had FSCS cover or access to the Financial Ombudsman. EEA users deal with a regulated company in Bybit EU, but they get fewer products.
KYC levels, withdrawal limits and account freezes
You can withdraw a fair amount without KYC, and Standard KYC is enough for nearly everyone. Bybit's own pages disagree about the top tier. The limits below come from the KYC levels page and the Individual KYC FAQ:
Bybit KYC levels table: Non-KYC, Standard, Advanced/Pro and Business verification compared for deposits
| Level | Documents | Daily withdrawal | Monthly |
|---|---|---|---|
| No KYC | None | 20K USDT | 100K USDT |
| Standard | ID + proof of identity | 1M USDT | No limit |
| Advanced | Adds proof of address | 2M USDT | Not stated |
| Pro | Enhanced due diligence, including proof of income | Up to 4M USDT (benefits table) or 26M–60M USDT by VIP level (FAQ; Pro 6 = 60M) | Not stated |
| Business (KYB) | Company documents | Up to 40M USDT (PRO 4) | Not stated |
If you need Pro-level limits, ask support to confirm your cap in writing before you rely on it. To raise a limit manually, you have to set up Google Authenticator first (guide).
Users complain about compliance holds, where withdrawals pause while Bybit asks for more documents. Have proof of address and proof of income ready before you move large amounts. P2P runs under terms issued by the UAE entity (effective 19 Jan 2026) and isn't offered to users from mainland China. Card and fiat services follow the restricted-issuer list.
On privacy, the Pro tier asks for proof of income, and EU users fall under DAC8 and MiCA data-sharing rules. Reporting your taxes is your own job.
Bybit app, Unified Trading Account and support
The tools are built for experienced traders, and a testnet lets you practise without real money. The main thing to watch is cross-margin. Web and mobile come with learning materials for newer users.
The Unified Trading Account (UTA) pools your collateral across products. Your capital goes further, but a losing leveraged position can be liquidated using collateral from your whole account. Keep only the margin you are willing to lose in the UTA, and hold long-term coins outside it.
User reviews of support are mixed. The global entity is offshore, so a support ticket is your only route if something goes wrong. That is one more reason to keep a smaller balance on Bybit than you would with a regulated broker.
Bybit vs OKX, Kraken, Coinbase and Binance
Choose Bybit for low-cost perps and options outside the US, UK and Japan. Each alternative fits a different reader better:
| Exchange | Pick it if | How Bybit differs |
|---|---|---|
| OKX | You want another offshore, derivatives-focused exchange with its own PoR | Similar product focus; compare local limits for your country |
| Kraken | You're in the US or UK and want a licensed venue | Bybit serves neither |
| Coinbase | You're a US user or a beginner who wants a US-regulated, publicly listed company for simple spot buying | Bybit's 0.10% VIP 0 spot fee isn't a beginner's bargain, and there's no US access |
| Binance | You want the widest spot pair selection and deepest liquidity where it's allowed | Bybit puts options, TradFi CFDs and xStocks on one account |
In the EEA, Bybit EU's 0.25% spot taker fee and lack of derivatives take away most of the appeal, so compare it with other MiCAR-licensed exchanges. Dutch users are already being moved to MEXC under a Bybit EU partnership. In the UAE you can trade spot now, but perps are waiting on VARA approval.
Everywhere else Bybit operates, a trader placing many leveraged orders a month will struggle to find a cheaper entry tier than 0.02% maker / 0.055% taker.
Bybit FAQ
What are Bybit's spot fees?
Non-VIP users pay 0.10% maker and 0.10% taker on crypto spot pairs.
What are derivatives fees?
Perpetuals and futures: 0.02% maker / 0.055% taker. Options: 0.02% maker / 0.03% taker.
How are VIP levels set?
VIP levels refresh daily at 7:00 AM UTC. The fee rate applied is the one for your VIP level when the order is placed.
Are fees the same in every country?
No. Bybit says actual fee rates may vary depending on your region.
Used Bybit? Rate it
Sign in to rate this tool and share how you use it.
Bybit
Paid